Raptor Research Foundation

Tom Cade Achievement Award

Tom Cade Achievement Award

THE AWARD: The Tom Cade Achievement Award is a non-monetary award that recognizes an individual who has made significant advances in or contributions to the conservation of raptors, including: advances in captive propagation and reintroduction techniques; identifying conservation biology problems and solutions; and implementing population restoration programs. This award has no restrictions, but membership in the RRF is encouraged. Nominations may be submitted at any time. Recipients will be announced at the annual meeting.

Professional Biography of TOM J. CADE

In Memoriam: TOM J. CADE 1928-2019

ABOUT TOM CADE: Tom Cade was an icon and hero to us all. His passion for falcons knew no bounds. One of the founders of the Raptor Research Foundation, he was the driving force behind the reintroduction of the Peregrine Falcon east of the Mississippi and across much of its North American range. The Peregrine Fund, which he created with the recovery of a single endangered species—the Peregrine Falcon—as its goal, has grown into a conservation organization with a worldwide reach and global impact.

Nominations should include:

• Name, title, and address of the nominee.

• Name, title, and address of the nominator.

• Names of three persons qualified to evaluate the nominee’s scientific contribution

• A summary of the scientific contribution of the nominee.

• A complete list of publications authored by the nominee.

AMOUNT: non-monetary award.

Number of Awards Issued per Year: 1


Application Method: Apply online through June 30th. Please contact awards@raptorresearchfoundation.org with questions about your application. The online application opens in January each year.

Tom Cade Award

Accepted file types: pdf, Max. file size: 100 MB.

Past Recipients

YearCade Recipient
1991Jim Weaver
1992Les Boyd
1993James Enderson
1994Christian Saar
1995Patrick Redig and Harrison ‘Bud’ Tordoff
1996Cal Sanfort
2008David Bird
2011Bill Heinrich
2014Jemima Parry-Jones
2015Janet Linthicum
2016Robert B. Berry
2017Miguel Ferrer Baena
2018Richard T. Watson
2020Àlex Llopis Dell
2021Peter Lindberg
2022José Hernán Sarasola
2023Brian Mutch